Ohio State nav bar

Areas of Study

The School of Music has a faculty of nationally and internationally recognized performing artists, composers, scholars and master teachers, in addition to full- and part-time associated faculty who are specialists in their fields. The faculty serves a student body of approximately 300 undergraduate and 150 graduate music majors, as well as hundreds of non-music majors who are pursuing music minors, taking classes or participating in one of the school's many performance ensembles.

In order to meet the needs of each student's individual academic and professional goals, the school is divided into distinct areas of study, each with its own area head.

Visit the web pages of some of our studios. Find them in the navigation menu.

In addition, the school offers two minors:

  • Music Minor
  • Music, Media and Enterprise

See Undergraduate Curriculum Information for music major and minor curriculum sheets.