Ohio State nav bar

DMA Concerto winners announced

April 13, 2023

DMA Concerto winners announced

Dana Carlson-Kottke and Karen Kim

Congratulations to winners of the annual Ohio State DMA Concerto Competition held on April 12 in the Timashev Family Music Building. They will perform with the Ohio State Symphony Orchestra in the 2023–2024 season. 

Dana Carlson-Kottke, soprano, is a graduate teaching associate studying with Laura Portune, assistant professor of practice and area head of voice. Dana has sung with opera companies and academic institutions in Ohio, Wisconsin, South Dakota, Texas and Alabama in roles such as Belinda (Dido and Aeneas), Kate (Sweets by Kate), Dew Fairy and Sandman (Hansel and Gretel), First Lady (Queen of the Night, world premiere), Adele (Die Fledermaus), Susanna (Le Nozze di Figaro), Adina (L’Elisir d’Amore). Other operatic experience includes scene work as Cunégonde (Candide), Blanche (A Streetcar Named Desire), both First and Second Lady (Die Zauberflöte), and Beth (Little Women).

Dana previously held teaching engagements at the University of South Dakota as visiting assistant professor of voice, at Beliot College as adjunct instructor of voice, and in Milwaukee at the Wisconsin Conservatory of Music. Working with a variety of genres at all ages, levels and learning contexts, Dana strives to create a learning environment that is positive, individualized, challenging and engaging.

Karen Kim, piano, is a doctoral candidate studying with Steven Glaser, professor of piano, and is a graduate teaching associate working with Kenneth Williams, associate professor of piano and music education. As a teacher, Karen has been awarded the prestigious Mary Sue Harris Teacher Fellowship by Music Teachers National Association and has been featured in American Music Teacher magazine for outstanding teaching and studio development. Her students have been winners of numerous local and international competitions.

Karen directs “Musical Moments Piano Studio” with her husband in Cincinnati. She serves as the Ohio representative for the Associate Board of the Royal Schools of Music.