Symphony Orchestra Concerto Concert 1/26/23


Thursday, Jan. 26, 2023  •  8 p.m.

Weigel Auditorium
Columbus, OH

Miriam Burns

Malik Khalfani



The Way They Face

Justin Monroe, composer-in-residence World Première

Malik Khalfani, conductor

Adagio con variazioni

Ottorino Respighi (1879–1936)

Vincente Quach, cello

Flute Concerto, movement 1

Carl Nielsen (1865–1931)

Katie Sharp, flute

Legende, Op. 66

Florent Schmitt (1870–1958)

Sean Bauman, alto sax 

Malik Khalfani, conductor

“Non piu’ andrai”
from The Marriage of Figaro

W. A. Mozart (1756–1791)

Darren Templeton, bass

Tzigane, Op. 20

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)

Nathan Jeoung, violin


Sean Bauman, saxophone, is pursuing the Bachelor of Music Education degree in the School of Music at The Ohio State University. Originally from Strongsville, Ohio, Sean is in his senior year and studies with Michael Rene Torres. As a saxophonist, Sean has been a member of the Ohio State Wind Symphony, Symphonic Band, and several Ohio State saxophone quartets. Sean is also a sousaphone player in The Ohio State University Marching Band as a member of L Row.

Nathan Jeoung is a first-year undergraduate student at The Ohio State University, double-majoring in music BA and microbiology. He started studying the violin at 11 with  Juan Carlos Ortega-Paredes and currently studies with Kia-Hui Tan. He participated in  the Columbus Symphony Youth Orchestra where he played as concertmaster and principal second, Regional and Allstate Orchestras, and Chamber Music Connection. He has participated in numerous competitions, including CSO Concerto Competition, NASO Concerto Competition, and the Women in Music Young Artists Competition.

Justin Monroe is a first-year student in the Master of Music program in composition at Ohio State, where he studies with Vera Stanojevic, Thomas Wells and Michael Rene Torres. He currently serves as a graduate teaching associate while pursuing the master's in composition. Justin grew up in Dublin, Ohio and graduated from Dublin Jerome High School before enrolling at the Ohio State School of Music. Justin's premiere work for chamber orchestra, The Way They Face, is being conducted by Malik Khalfani. Justin is also a percussionist, and as such he has performed with several ensembles in the School of Music, including the Symphonic Band, Wind Symphony, and Percussion Ensemble. Additionally he performed with The Ohio State University Marching Band for five years as a tenor drummer in JI-Row, traveling to several venues across the country. 

Vincente Quach is a fourth year undergraduate studying Microbiology on a pre-veterinary track with a dual minor in Music and Animal Pre-Veterinary Medicine and plans to attend Veterinary School at Ohio State. He has played the cello for 11 years and plans to continue. He enjoys teaching several cello students in Pickerington, Ohio where he resides. In his free time, he volunteers at animal clinics on the weekends. Besides cello, he has learned piano and guitar and has also experimented with composition. His cello playing is inspired by Jill Crist, founder of the Columbus Cello School, and Mark Rudoff, professor of cello, and is entirely grateful for their guidance and faith in me as a musician. He is thankful for the support of his colleagues in the cello studio. 

Katie Sharp is in the first year of her Master of Music in flute performance at The Ohio State University, studying with Katherine Borst Jones. Last semester, she served as a Graduate Teaching Associate in Musicology, where she taught History of Rock & Roll to undergraduate students. She is currently the Exhibits Coordinator for the 2023 Central Ohio Flute Association. Katie earned her Bachelor of Music in flute performance and French from Baldwin Wallace University. Her former teachers include Dr. Nicole Charles, Randy Hester, and George Pope. In 2021, Katie was a co-winner of the PANdemonium4 Virtual Flute Competition in the collegiate division. She was also selected to perform as a soloist in the Baldwin Wallace Conservatory Convocation several times throughout her studies at BW. Beyond OSU, Katie is a guest artist liaison for the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. She plans to pursue a DMA in performance and perform as an orchestral musician with professional ensembles after graduation.

Darren Templeton, bass-baritone, is pursuing the Master of Music in voice performance and studying with Katherine Rohrer. Darren taught middle and high school voice, choral music and coached soccer for 6 years prior to joining the military. He recently retired as a Major after serving 28 total years in the Marine Corps and the Army in the Military Police and Logistics Corps respectively. Darren was the bass soloist in a 2016 performance of the Mozart Requiem with the Richmond Chorale and Orchestra in Richmond, Virginia. He recently performed as a bass soloist in M. Haydn’s Requiem in c with Trinity United Methodist choir and orchestra in Columbus. Darren also sang the role of King Balthazar this past December in the one act opera, Amahl and the Night Visitors in Marysville, Ohio. Darren was recently hired to sing the role of Count Ceprano in Opera Columbus’ upcoming performance of Rigoletto. This summer, Darren will  attend the summer opera training program, International Performing Arts Institute (IPAI) in Bavaria, Germany. 


Perri Kiser, concertmaster
Sam Golik
Danielle Miller
Mary Wellmeier
Hsiang-Lu Lan
Myra Stewart
Vincent Brausch
Nathan Jeoung

Clara Rudy, principal
Anastasia Anikina
Zoe Wolfe
Lauren Bess
Adam Whitman  
Andrew Zheng
Nicholas Bagby
Declan Alford

Jaryn Danz, principal
Zee Perry
Mitchell Likovetz
Brandon Waite
Sasha Spencer
William Ayers

Lucy Reed, principal  
Aidan Sullivan
Rosa Balderamma
Nathaniel Tyler
Anne Bartos   
Mohamed Manaa 
Lydia Smith
Aidan Dever
Eden Davis
Hyeongu Hwang
Jaeda Wood-Binkley
Nick DeGroff
Alex Myers

Jimmy Perera, principal
Samantha Marcrum
Carson Wolf
Dirui Jiang 

Arianna Bendit
Sofia Geelhood
Meagan Gaskill, piccolo

Michael Rueda
Lauren Kowal
Claire Rottman, English Horn

Louis Maligaya, principal
Katie Lowry
Mason Williams, bass clarinet

Layla Elhamri, principal
Bobby Schwartz
Isaiah Heyman, contrabass

Brittany White    
Ben Moloci   
Cheng Peng
Emily Lay        

Ben Guegold
Matt Pileski
Gavin Newton
Julia Moxley  
Alessandro Nocera 
Connor McMullen 

Nik Henderson, principal  
William Ao
Eric Oxsalida, bass

Avery Voress   

Ben Kerger

Adam Quinn
Kyle Thomas

Jillian Davis
Josie Davis

Lira Chung
Tracy Yu

Join us…

School of Music performances are free, unless indicated otherwise. Many performances are livestreamed for later viewing. 

Would you like to receive reminders about upcoming events in the School of Music? Subscribe to our weekly e-newsletter, OVATION