Cooper Wood

Cooper Wood

Cooper Wood

Graduate Associate

Areas of Expertise

  • Composition
  • Counterpoint Pedagogy
  • Music Theory


  • BM, Music Composition, summa cum laude, The Ohio State University

Cooper Wood is a second-year master's student in composition at the Ohio State School of Music. He currently studies with Professors Thomas Wells and Vera Stanojevic, and previously with Professors Jan Radzynski and Matthew Saunders. Notable performers of Cooper's work include the Ohio State Wind Ensemble, The Snowbelt Symphony, the Ohio State Symphony Orchestra, Chloe Swindler, and members of the Cleveland Orchestra. For the Ohio State Symphony's 2019–2020 season, Cooper was appointed composer-in-residence. Most recently, his Sonata for Trumpet and Piano was selected to be performed on the New Works Recital at the 2022 International Trumpet Guild Conference in San Antonio, Texas. His music is published by Murphy Music Press LLC.

Cooper is a graduate teaching associate for the School's theory area, where he teaches Music Theory and Aural Training. He currently serves as president of the Ohio State New Music Collective, and previously taught a course in counterpoint for the composition area. Outside of music, Cooper Wood is deeply interested in philosophy, classical literature and world history.

People Filters: